Div. 39 Scholars Program

Applications are now being accepted for the Div. 39 (Psychoanalysis) Scholars Program for the 2018-19 year. The program runs from the Div. 39 spring meeting in New Orleans, April 18-22, 2018, through the spring meeting in Philadelphia, April 3-7, 2019.


Sponsor: Division 39


The Div. 39 Scholars Program for graduate students and Early Career Professionals (ECPs) and psychoanalytic candidates is designed to help foster intellectual curiosity and professional development relevant to psychoanalytic approaches to clinical work, theory and research. The aim of this program is to promote learning about psychoanalysis and to facilitate open dialogue and exchange of ideas about the future state of psychoanalytic thinking, research and practice in the field of psychology and the role of psychologists in the future of psychoanalysis.

Successful applicants will receive the following benefits:

  • A stipend of $1000 to support attendance at the Div. 39 spring meeting in New Orleans.
  • Ongoing mentorship for a year. Each scholar will be matched with a program mentor who commits to meeting with his or her mentee at least once per month to provide guidance in the early stages of the Scholar's career and training. Individual requests for a mentor with a particular shared interest/focus (e.g. particular research, scholarly, theoretical or clinical interest) will be honored if possible. Scholars and mentors will work together to develop an individualized plan to support the Scholar’s professional goals and interests. The specific content of these meetings is at the discretion of each mentorship pair.
  • Opportunities to participate in a vibrant psychoanalytic community. Readings, case material, theoretical discussions, research guidance and mentorship regarding personal and professional struggles in becoming a psychoanalytic theorist, researcher and clinician are among the possibilities.
  • Free subscriptions to all the Div. 39 publications: Psychoanalytic Psychology, the official Div. 39 journal; DIVISION/Review, a thrice yearly discussion of issues in psychoanalysis and the wider culture; Insight, the online division newsletter; and PEP-Archive, the online archive of all major analytic journals.

Awardees are expected to attend the scholars reception at the Spring Meeting where they will receive their awards.

There are nine components of the program. Each applicant may apply to one and only one component. Component descriptions and contact persons can be found under the “How to Apply” tab. Applicants who fit into more than one category must choose one group to which they will submit their application.

Any questions may be addressed to Frank Summers, PhD, PC, or Dana Charatan, PsyD.


All graduate students as well as early career professionals (10 years or fewer of postdoctoral experience) in clinical psychology and related fields who have not previously received the award are eligible to apply. Applicants need not be members of Div. 39 at the time of the application. All Div. 39 scholars will become members of the division for the scholarship year and are encouraged to continue their membership after the scholars year. 

Applications must be received by Oct. 15, 2017. Announcements of the winners will be made by Nov. 15, 2017.

Please note: Proposals for posters to the Research Committee are submitted separately, with a different submission date of Dec. 1, 2017.

How to Apply

There are two steps to the application process:

  1. The application is to be filled out online. Be sure to complete all the information. Be aware that the system cannot save partially completed applications. Therefore, all applications must be filled out and submitted in one session.
  2. The applicant must also submit a CV via email to Ruth Helein, the Div. 39 administrator.

Please note that the Scholars Program is divided into several different components, and the applicant must designate to which program he or she is applying on the application. The components are listed and described briefly, including the email addresses of the contact person(s) for each component. Specific questions regarding individual components should be addressed to the appropriate contact person(s) listed.

Any questions about the Div. 39 Scholars Program as a whole may be addressed to either of the co-chairpersons, Frank Summers, PhD, ABPP, or Dana Charatan, PsyD. 

Graduate Students Committee

These awards are granted to 15 graduate students in clinical psychology or a closely related discipline. Applicants must show demonstrated interest in clinical psychology and psychoanalytic work. For application details or any questions, contact Claude Barbre.

Multicultural Concerns Committee

Sixteen awards are given to graduate students or early career professional ethnic minorities who demonstrate an interest in the intersection between psychoanalytic thought and cultural concerns. For applications details or questions contact either committee co-chairs Sanjay Nath, PhD, and Leilani Crane.

Sexualities and Gender Identities Committee

Five awards go to graduate students or early career professionals who have demonstrated an interest in the intersection of psychoanalytic theory and practice and sexual and gender concerns. For application details or questions, contact either committee co-chairs Scott Pytluk, PhD, ABPP, and Shara Sand, PsyD.

Early Career Professionals Committee

Eight awards will be granted to early career professionals who have 10 years or fewer postdoctoral experience. 

Contact person: Michael Donnell

Section VIII: Couple and Family Therapy and Psychoanalysis

Four awards will be given to graduate students; early career professionals in clinical psychology or allied discipline; or psychoanalytic institute candidates who have demonstrated an interest in a psychoanalytic approach to couple and/or family therapy.

Contact person: Phyllis Cohen

International Relations Committee

Five awards will be given to graduate students or early career professionals who live and either work or study abroad. For application details and questions, contact committee co-chairs Marilyn Jacobs, PhD, and Kris Yi, PhD.

Candidate Outreach Committee

Two awards will be given to U.S. and international graduate students and early career professionals who are either prospective or current psychoanalytic candidates.  Applicants should demonstrate an interest in exploring the role and tenets of psychoanalytic training.   

Contact person:  Ricardo Rieppi

Section IV: Local Chapters*

Contact person: Bill McGillivray

Research Committee**

Contact person: Sherwood Waldron, MD

*Local Chapters: Section IV grants the Scholars Award to graduate students and early career professionals who are active members of their local chapters. Award eligibility, however, is based on which local chapters are eligible in any given year to nominate someone. For more information contact your local chapter representative to Section IV or Bill MacGillivray.

**Research Committee: Proposals for posters are submitted separately, with a different submission date of Dec. 1, directly to Natalie Shear and are evaluated by members of the Research Committee. They are not asked to focus on the overall theme of the conference. Please submit a summary of 250 words or fewer to be printed in the program, and then add the following if not already covered in the summary: the authors; their degrees and primary affiliation (institution); the title; the aim of the research; and a description of the procedure, including mention of the sample, instruments used, any statistical procedures and findings to date. In making your poster submission, please indicate whether the first author qualifies for the Div. 39 Scholars Award. Submissions should not exceed 1,000 words, including the summary. Poster acceptances for the program will be emailed by Jan. 10.