William James Award


Sponsor: Division 36


This award is offered every three years to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution through publication and professional activity to basic research and theory in the psychology of religion and related areas.



All individuals are eligible for consideration.

How to Apply

Nominations for this award should include a brief statement explaining why the nominee deserves the award as well as a copy of the nominee's CV. Self-nominations are welcome. Please send a single document containing all materials (as either a PDF or MS Word document) to Awards Committee chair Crystal Park (Secondary email). Deadline for the current cycle of awards is March 31st, to be given the subsequent year.

Past Recipients

2015: None
2014: Crystal Park
2013: None
2012: None
2011: None
2010: Robert Emmons
2009: None
2008: None
2007: Lee Kirkpatrick
2006: None
2005: None
2004: None
2003: Jacob A. Belzen
2002: None
2001: None
2000: Antoine Vergote
1999: None
1998: None
1997: K. Helmut Reich
1996: None
1995: Kalevi Tamminen
1994: Jim Fowler
1993: Benjamin Beit-Hallahmi
1992: L.B. Brown
1991: Bruce Hunsburger
1990: Allen E. Bergin
1989: Peter Benson
1988: C. Daniel Batson
1987: Kenneth Pargament
1986: Richard Gorsuch
1985: Ralph Hood
1984: Noel Mailloux
1983: Merton Strommen
1982: Bernard Spilka
1981: Walter Houston Clark
1980: None
1979: Andre Godi
1978: None
1977: Orlo Strunk
1976: Frank Kobler