William C. Bier Award


Sponsor: Division 36


This award honors an outstanding contribution through publication and professional activity to the dissemination of findings on religious and allied issues or who has made a notable contribution to the integration of these findings with those of other disciplines, notably philosophy, sociology and anthropology.


All individuals are eligible for consideration.

How to Apply

Nominations for this award should include a brief statement explaining why the nominee deserves the award as well as a copy of the nominee's CV. Self-nominations are welcome. Please send a single document containing all materials (as either a PDF or MS Word document) to Awards Committee chair Crystal Park (Secondary email). Deadline for the current cycle of awards is March 31st, to be given the subsequent year.

Past Recipients
2016: Richard Sosis
2015: Neal Krause
2014: Tanya Luhrman
2013: Susan McFadden
2012: Ev Worthington
2011: Annette Mahoney
2010: Justin Barrett
2009: Fraser Watts
2008: Ray Paloutzian
2007: None
2006: Leslie J. Francis
2005: Owe Wilkstrom
2004: Naomi R. Goldenberg
2003: Nils G. Holm
2002: Siang-Yang Tan
2001: William C. Meissner
2000: Carole A. Rayburn
1999: P. Scott Richards
1998: Peter C. Hill
1997: Edward P. Shafranske
1996: Ana Maria Rizzuto
1995: John McDargh
1994: Don Capps
1993: James W. Jones
1992: Barry Ekstadt
1991: David Wulff
1990: Hendrika Vande Kemp
1989: Reuven Bulka
1988: David Bakan
1987: H. Newton Malony
1986: Paul Pruyser
1985: Paul Clement
1984: James E. Royce
1983: Gary Collins
1982: Adrian Van Kaam
1981: No award presented
1980: William C. Bier (awarded posthumously)