Division 31 Awards

Our awards program recognizes psychologists, executive directors as well as psychological associations for their many important professional contributions. Be sure to nominate deserving colleagues so that we may honor them. Our commitment to diversity issues is evidenced by our recognition of psychological associations who have outstanding diversity programs as well as our contribution to sending a diversity delegate to State Leadership Conference.

Our commitment to students/early career psychologists is also evidenced by our contribution to the APAGS student award for those students who have significantly contributed to state, provincial or territorial issues. Division 31 also coordinates and administers the APA Karl F. Heiser Presidential Award for Advocacy. Presented each year at the APA convention by the APA President, this important award recognizes those who have made significant contributions to the profession or to society through their advocacy efforts.

Please be sure to nominate deserving colleagues for this important recognition.

  • APAGS/CAPP/Division 31 SPTA Award
    This award is given at each year's State Leadership Conference to recognize innovation and accomplishment in student programming and activities and is administered by APAGS.

  • Committee on Early Career Psychologists (ECP) Initiative Award
    This award rewards an SPTA for implementing exemplary activities or initiatives that engage and sustain early career psychologists within roles involving advocacy, leadership or the practice of psychology.

  • Diversity Leadership Development Training Program Fund
    The primary purpose of this fund is to provide leadership development training with the goal of assisting diversity delegates advance into leadership positions within their SPTA and APA.

  • Karl F. Heiser APA Presidential Award for Advocacy
    This award honors those psychologists who have given voluntarily of their time to define the discipline of psychology statutorily by state and federal laws and regulations through advocacy.

  • Michael Sullivan Diversity Scholarship Fund
    The Michael Sullivan Diversity Scholarship Fund was created to provide financial assistance to support graduate student research projects in honor of Sullivan's work with American Psychological Association; State, Provincial, and Territorial Psychological Associations; and his commitment to diversity and inclusion.

  • Outstanding Achievement by a Psychological Association Staff Member
    This award is given to reward a psychological association staff member for exemplary service.

  • Outstanding Psychologist Award
    This award honors a psychologist whose distinguished contributions may include demonstrating outstanding leadership in state, provincial, or territorial psychological association(s) (SPTA).

  • Outstanding SPTA Award
    Honor an outstanding association for achievements and accomplishments that provide a model for other associations.

  • SPTA Diversity Award
    This award recognizes innovation, accomplishment, and ongoing activities related to diversity in membership, governance and leadership, and programming.