About Us

Division 18: Psychologists in Public Service responds to the needs of the public in areas such as psychological practice, research, training, and policy formation. The division comprises six sections representing a variety of settings: Community and State Hospital, Criminal Justice, Police and Public Safety, Psychologists in Indian Country, Serious Mental Illness-Severe Emotional Disturbance and Veterans Affairs. The division and its sections provide a forum for its members to discuss common professional interests, to advocate for the mental health needs of the public, and to promote the use of evaluation and research in public research programs. The newsletter Public Service Psychology is sent to members three times a year.

Special Initiatives of Division 18

  • Mentoring Program
    The Division 18 mentoring program provides students and early career psychologists the opportunity to gain wisdom and guidance from a "seasoned" psychologist with similar clinical and/or research interests.


Veronica Allen
Division 18 Administrative Office
American Psychological Association
750 First St., NE
Washington, DC 20002-4242
Telephone: (202) 336-6121
Fax: (202) 218-3599